Black Student Commission



The mission of the black Student Commission is to provide students of Black/African heritage with a cohesive community at the University of Washington, while creating and maintaining a positive environment with resources for the students to achieve academic success.


The University of Washington’s Black Student Commission is an umbrella entity linked to the Associated Students of the University of Washington that supports Black/African (American) students and registered student organizations of the same category. The BSC strives to create and maintain an environment in which these students are comfortable in their academic and social surroundings. Additionally, the commission aims to enlighten the consciousness of students concerning local, national and international issues significant to the communities of African descent through events and programs (educational and social) funded by the BSC and other supporting organizations. Although the BSC and other supporting organizations.

Past ASUW BSC Directors

  • 2022-23: Calen Garrett
  • 2021-22: Navon Morgan
  • 2020-21: Alexandria Thompson
  • 2019-20: Trevon Lamont’e Davis
  • 2018-19: Lona Medhane
  • 2017-18: Eyerusalem Dessie
  • 2016-17: Mariama Suwaneh
  • 2015-16: Adaeze Medani
  • 2014­-15: Briana Jarrett
  • 2013­-14: Soffonias Gebrehewot
  • 2012-13: Sierra Stewart
  • 2011­-12: Sha Perine
  • 2010­-11: Keisha Credit
  • 2009­-10: Kayla Huddleston
  • 2008­-09: Krysten Legette
  • 2007­-08: Michele Prince
  • 2006­-07: Jayme Ballard
  • 2005­-06: Miranda Bethay
  • 2004­-05: Anthony Rose